Vietnam day tours

Phone: +84 24 7303 9191

Friday, December 14

Vietnam wetlands recognized

This southernmost province’s Mui Ca Mau (Ca Mau Cape) National Park will be recognized as a new world Ramsar site and the fifth site in Vietnam.

Ca Mau Agriculture and Rural Development Department said the World Environment Organization will announce the official recognition of the park, 13 December.
The 41,862-hectare site, including 15,262 hectares of land and 26,600 hectares of coastal areas, are mainly saline wetlands.

The attraction is home to 93 species of birds, 26 species of animals, 43 species of reptiles, nine species of amphibians, 233 fish species, including many rare ones.
The national park is one of the three main parts of the Ca Mau Cape global biosphere reserve, which was recognized by UNESCO on 26 May 2009.

Currently, Vietnam has four Ramsar sites, including two in the north and two in the south.
The northern Ramsar sites are Xuan Thuy Natural Wetland Reserve in Nam Dinh province and the Ba Be Lake in the mountainous province of Bac Kan, recognized in 1988 and 2011, respectively.
The southern ones are Bau Sau in Cat Tien National Park in Dong Nai province and Tram Chim National Park in the southern province of Dong Thap, recognized in 2005 and 2012, respectively.

The Convention on Wetland, known as the Ramsar Convention is an inter-governmental treaty that encourages member countries to maintain the ecological character of their wetlands regions.
Vietnam first participated in the Ramsar Convention in 1989.
To explore those wetland sites thoroughly, tourists can refer to our exotic Mekong Delta tours. Check out the detailed information on our website and contact us to receive instant advice from our professional tour consultants.